Monday, January 12, 2015

Book Review ~ All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven


All the Bright Places
by Jennifer Niven


The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Click HERE to add to Goodreads

By now you’ve read the synopsis and you have a general idea what this story is about.  But what you don’t know is that this book with the beautiful cover is truly a ONE OF A KIND reading experience.  It is really hard to write this review without giving too much away, because this book needs to be read without any spoilers.  So with that being said, I am going to be really vague and just tell you my general overall thoughts on this amazing book.

As I read, Violet and Finch became personal to me.  I wanted them to go far in life.  I wanted them to succeed. I wanted them to have a Happily Ever After – whatever that could have been.  I just wanted them happy.

The characters in this book could be just about anyone on this great place called Earth.  The problems are ones that are unfortunately dealt with daily with a lot of people.
 
The parents in this story are human.  They make mistakes.  Sadly one set of parents was truly disconnected from what was really right in front of them.   If they just would have looked and listened maybe this story would have turned out differently.  The signs were there.  But as in real life, those signs are ignored and denied.  The problems happening in this story happen. Every. Single. Day. 

This book is a MUST READ for any teenager, parent, teacher, counselor – okay, EVERYONE.  This book will make you laugh.  This book will make you cry – and not just little tears.  BIG FAT TEARS that don’t stop.  But above all, this book will make you THINK.  Read this book and afterward, give a loved one a hug.  Talk to them and really listen to what they have to say. 

I loved All the Bright Places so much that it is now on my Top 10 Favorite Books of ALL TIME.  It was beautifully written and captivated me from the very first page.  This book touched my heart like no other and it is a story that will stay with me for quite some time.

A special thanks to the publisher for providing me with an ARC of this spectacular book.  I loved it so much, I bought another copy.


Really, this book deserves more than 5 stars.  If I could, I would give it 10 - it's just that good!


Jennifer Niven
By the time I was ten, I had already written numerous songs, a poem for Parker Stevenson ("If there were a Miss America for men, You would surely win"), two autobiographies (All About Me and My Life in Indiana: I Will Never Be Happy Again), a Christmas story, several picture books (which I illustrated myself) featuring the Doodle Bugs from Outer Space, a play about Laura Ingalls Wilder's sister entitled Blindness Strikes Mary, a series of prison mysteries, a collection of short stories featuring me as the main character (an internationally famous rock star detective), and a partially finished novel about Vietnam. I was also an excellent speller from a very early age.

In 2000, I started writing full-time, and I haven't stopped... I've written eight books (two of those are forthcoming), and when I'm not working on the ninth, I'm contributing to my web magazine, Germ (www.germmagazine.com), thinking up new books, and dabbling in TV. I am always writing.






Follow on Bloglovin