Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Book Review & Blog Tour ~ Traveler by Dennis W. Green {Giveaway}



Traveler
by Dennis W. Green

Blending mystery, police procedural and sci-fi, Traveler is a thriller in the tradition of Daniel Suarez and Dean Koontz, with just a dash of Jim Butcher.

Police detective Trav Becker can travel between parallel realities. So can other versions of him. And one is systematically killing every Trav he can find.

Trav must fight to keep the very fabric of time itself from unwinding as he hunts the most dangerous quarry of all… himself.


He must hunt the most dangerous quarry of all… himself.


Click HERE to add to Goodreads

Traveler starts off with our main character Travis (Trav) Becker who is a police detective.  Life is not going so good as his partner, Adam, was killed and his girlfriend dumped him.  Drowning his sorrows with alcohol, Trav's life is going downhill quickly.  That all changes though when he goes down to the precinct and in walks Adam - alive and well.  From that point on, Trav discovers that there are multiple dimensions to our world and his alter ego Trav Zero appears to want to kill all of the Trav's in every dimension.  With the help of his friend and scientist, Sam, it is a race against time to solve this case and discover what is really going on.

Traveler  was such a fun read.  It was an intriguing, roller-coaster ride of a thriller that was action packed and engaging throughout.  Stories about Quantum Physics are plentiful, but Mr. Green gave this story a unique twist that really had me guessing until the very end.  The writing flowed smoothly and I was really impressed by the fact that although the story line was very complex, I was able to follow what was happening very easily.  With so many versions of the same characters, I imagine that this story was a challenge to write, so kudos to Mr. Green for this outstanding endeavor!

If you love science fiction, mixed with some good old fashion crime investigation, then you're going to love Traveler.

4 stars


“Can I ask you a question?” I said.
“If I can ask you one,” Morgan replied.
I shrugged in assent, then started in. “You know who and what Kaaro is. You look too smart to be hanging out in a place like The Kremlin. Yet, you’re there two nights in a row.”
“Lucky for you I was.”
“You won’t get any argument from me, but it wasn’t like you showed up there because you knew someone would need to be rescued.”
She looked over at me quickly, with an expression I couldn’t read, then returned her focus to the road.
“How do you know?” Morgan asked quietly.
“What do you mean?”
“How do you know?” she repeated.
“Know what?”
“That I didn’t show up because I knew someone would need to be rescued?”
“You’ve lost me.”
“I don’t think so.”
We caught a red light. She eased the car to a stop and turned to face me. “Sometimes I get a feeling…that there is someplace I need to be. Sometimes it’s that bar. And every time I listen to that feeling, something happens later that proves it right. It might be something as simple as finding someone’s car keys and returning them. Other times…” She trailed off.
“You mean besides tonight?”
She nodded. “A couple of weeks ago, I was standing next to this couple. I don’t know if it was an online dating thing or what, but she kept telling him she needed to leave and he kept hold of her arm. I could tell she didn’t like it, but she obviously didn’t want to make a scene.”
“So, what did you do?”
A mischievous look came into her eyes. “I, uh, kind of spilled my margarita all over him. He was wearing this expensive cashmere sports coat. He dashed into the bathroom to clean it up and while he was gone, she ducked out.”
Her look turned serious.
“I had this feeling that if I hadn’t been there, things would have turned out very badly for her.”
“I remember that you said you were a psychic.”
She nodded.
“But that doesn’t mean I believe that you’re magically drawn to that bar to save people.”
“Oh, yes you do.”
Honk, honk. The light had turned green.
“I do?”
“Of course,” she said, ignoring the car behind us.
“Why?”

“Because you’re a traveler, that’s why.”


Specialization is for insects.

Ask someone how they know Dennis Green and you might get any one of the following: Writer, DJ, actor, MC, swimmer, teacher, reporter, tech geek, husband, or dad. So it’s little wonder his favorite expression is the above quote by Robert Heinlein’s spacefaring immortal, Lazarus Long.A popular radio personality in his native Iowa, Dennis’s adventures as a DJ were covered by newspapers from Anchorage to Los Angeles. He has also worked on the stage, TV, and independent film. He is one of the Midwest’s most popular MC’s, hosting dozens of events each year.

Dennis’s first novel, the sci-fi detective thriller, Traveler, ranked in the Top Ten in the 2014 Ben Franklin Independent Publishing awards, and has a 4.9 review average on Amazon.. Prisoner is the second volume of the Traveler Chronicles, and will be out in the summer of 2015. Trav Becker’s saga concludes in the final volume of the trilogy, Hunter, which is due in 2016.

Dennis’s writing has appeared in the anthology Sadistic Shorts, magazines including Grift and Romance and Beyond, as well as his own blog at denniswgreen.com. He also writes for and edits the triathlon news site heartofamericatri.com.

By day, he is the general manager of Iowa’s only jazz radio station, KCCK-FM. And if it’s 5:30 am, you can probably find him in the pool, working out with the Milky Way Masters swim club.






a Rafflecopter giveaway
Click HERE to follow the Tour