Sunday, August 24, 2014

Book Review ~ Rise of The Iron Eagle (The Iron Eagle Series: Book One) by Roy A. Teel Jr.

Rise of The Iron Eagle
(The Iron Eagle Series Book 1)
by Roy A. Teel Jr.

Is The Iron Eagle a psychotic serial killer?
Or a new breed of Justice?

Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Homicide Detective Jim O’Brian and FBI Profiler Special Agent Steve Hoffman are hunting for a brutal serial killer; however, this case defies the profiling rules both men have been trained to detect. “The Iron Eagle” appears to only hunt and capture serial killers. Time is of the essence as with each passing day “The Eagle” gets more brazen. The deeper O’Brian and Hoffman dig into profiling the killer, the more they realize that this is more than a race against time – it’s a race laden with the realization that the killer may be one of their own.

From the inside flap:

The city of Los Angeles is no stranger to violence. It has both a colorful and grotesque history with it. Sheriff’s Homicide Detective Jim O’Brian and FBI Profiler Special Agent Steve Hoffman are also no strangers to the violence of the sprawling metropolis, but in the past decade something has changed. There’s a serial killer preying on other serial killers – some known by law enforcement, others well off radar. “The Iron Eagle,” a vigilante, extracts vengeance for the victims of Los Angeles’ serial killers. His methods are meticulous and his killings brutal. With each passing day, “The Iron Eagle” moves with impunity through the streets of Los Angeles in search of his prey. O’Brian and Hoffman create an elite task force with the sole purpose of catching “The Eagle” and bringing him to justice. But the deeper they delve, the more apparent it is that he may very well be one of their own. As the two men stare into the abyss of their search, the eyes of “The Iron Eagle” stare back.

My Thoughts
The Iron Eagle.  Who is he?  Well, he is a serial killer preying on other serial killers.  His methods of killing are brutal and harsh.  Some may call it Vigilante Justice, as he is saving the taxpayers and families of the victims time, money and heartache.  But for Homicide Detective Jim O'Brian and FBI Profiler Special Agent Steve Hoffman, justice must be served and the Iron Eagle must be caught.  But what if the killer is one of their own and they don't even know it....yet.

Rise of the Iron Eagle is absolutely AMAZING!  The book was very well written  and the storyline had me turning each page desperately wanting to know more.  I found myself routing for the Iron Eagle as he desperately searched for his wife's killer and along the way getting rid of the scum that plagued the city.  His methods of killing may be unconventional and gruesome, but quite effective to say the least.  It must be noted that the acts of killing are so grotesque and so descriptive that the reader will have to have a strong stomach - it is not for the feint of heart, but this is what makes this story what it is - a heart pounding, intense thrill ride that will take the reader to a place that does not even seem possible.

The author has written a very suspenseful and entertaining story that I could not put down.   It's gritty, it's raw and it's perfect reading for any fan of hard-boiled crime thrillers.   Although the reader finds out who the Iron Eagle is pretty early in the story, it was enjoyable and very interesting to see his side of the story - actually get in his head and understand why he does what he does.

I am now a fan of Mr. Teel and I cannot wait for the next installment of this fast-paced and intriguing series.  This book is perfect for fans of crime thrillers and one that I would recommend.

My rating:  5 out of 5 stars

Purchase Links
Amazon * Barnes & Noble

The next installment of the series is titled Evil and the Details and is available for purchase on Smashwords and available for pre-order on Amazon.

Here is the blurb:
There’s a scourge on the streets of Los Angeles. A serial killer is stalking, capturing, torturing, and killing young teenage boys. FBI Profilers Special Agent Steve Hoffman and Special Agent John Swenson are working with Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Detective Jim O’Brian to catch this elusive killer. The deeper they delve into the killings the darker the soul and source of the depravity becomes.
The Iron Eagle is back with a VENGEANCE! 

The City of Los Angeles is caught in the grip and terror of a serial killer; a killer who’s stalking, capturing, torturing, and killing young teenage boys. For LA County Sheriff’s Detective Jim O’Brian, it’s not just another killer in a long line of killers. O’Brian is stumped by the brutality he sees … brutality that had to have taken the killer decades to achieve. He asks for the assistance of FBI Profiler Special Agents Steve Hoffman and John Swenson. However, the further the three men delve into the murders, the more puzzling and darker they become. They all know that they are not alone in seeking out and hunting this person. The Iron Eagle is out there … searching, profiling, hunting, and ready to exact his own vengeance to stop the killings, and in doing so, will leave his own wake of bodies.

About the Author
Roy A. Teel Jr, Is the author of several scholarly biblical books as well as fiction works. He is an ordained minister through ULC Ministries; he earned his Ministerial Studies degree from Global University of the Assemblies of God in Springfield, Missouri. He holds PhD's in Divinity and Biblical Studies from ULC Ministries. He was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis in 1995 at the age of 30. He became disabled in 2010 due to his MS becoming relapsing progressive. He lives with his wife Tracy and their Springer Spaniel Sandy, and their tabby cat Oscar in Lake Arrowhead, California.

I am proud to announce the release of book one in The Iron Eagle Series, "Rise of The Iron Eagle" this series is planned to span ten books over the next two years. This crime novel series is based in Los Angeles, California and Los Angeles County. This novel series is a great departure from my previous novels, they take the reader into the dark regions of the minds of serial killers.

The idea for this series has been on my mind for over 30 years and now it is a reality. What makes this novel series different from others is, what happens in these books to the victims can happen in real life to any one of us. The terror is in the reality of the cruelty of man. However, The Iron Eagle moves quickly to exact his own brand of justice on those who would do the people of Los Angeles harm, is the Iron Eagle a hero or brutal serial killer? That is up to the reader to decide.

Author Links

Follow on Bloglovin